India vs Australia 2nd Test: Team India beat Australia by 8 wickets


In the Boxing Day Test, Ajinkya Rahane’s India defeated Australia by 7 wickets to win the series. In the second innings, Siraj, Bumrah and Ashwin bowled out Australia for 200 runs. With a lead of just 70 runs, India achieved the target by losing 2 wickets in the second innings. On the fourth day, Shubman Gill and captain Ajinkya Rahane gave India an easy win.

After winning the toss, Tim Payne’s Australia decided to bat in the first innings. Barring Matthew Wade, Marnus Labuschagne and Travis Head, no Australian batsman faced India’s disastrous bowling. Wade’s scored 30, Marnus Labuschagne 48, Travis Head’s 38, Cameron Green’s 12, Tim Payne’s 13 and Nathan Lyon’s 20 – a performance of the Australian batsman in the first innings.

Jashpreet Bumrah took 4 wickets with only 56 runs. On the other hand, Ravichandran Ashwin took 3 wickets, Mohammad Siraj took 2 wickets and Ravindra Jadeja took 1 wicket. However, Umesh Yadav did not take any wicket in the first innings.

Meanwhile, India lost the wicket of Mayank Agarwal in the first innings. Cheteshwar Pujara also returned to the pavilion scoring just 17 runs. Subsequently Shubman Gill and Ajinkya Rahane laid the foundation of the match. Shubman Gill was out for 45, but Rahane gave a brilliant century. Rabindra Jadeja (57) batted hard and scored a half century. Also, Hanuma Bihari came up from the bat with 21 runs, Rishabh Panth was out for 29 runs and Ravichandran Ashwin made 18. India lost 10 wickets in the first innings and scored 326 runs.

In response, Australia batted in the second innings and finished with 200 runs. Australia’s Matthew Wade scored 40 and Cameron Green’s 45. Marnus Labuschagne scored 28, Travis Head 17, Pat Cummins 22 and Mitchell Starc 18.

However, the Indian bowlers bowled brilliantly in the second innings. Jashpreet Bumra took 2 wickets, Umesh Yadav 1 wicket, Mohammad Siraj took 3 wickets, Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja took 2 wickets. However, Umesh Yadav was injured after bowling 3.3 overs in the second innings. And after Mohammed Sami, the team management is worried about Umesh’s injury.

India needed just 70 runs in the second innings to win. Mayank Agarwal was dismissed for 5 and Cheteshwar Pujara for just 3 runs. Shubman Gill and Ajinkya Rahane scored 60 runs in 15 overs. Shubman remained unbeaten on 35 and Rahane on 26. Team captain Ajinkya Rahane received the Man of the Match Award.